Union Order of Battle for Mother Earth, Bloody Ground

on September 17, 2014 in American Civil War, Units

Here is an updated order of battle for the Army of the Tennessee for the start of Mother Earth, Bloody Ground.

Overall Commander: Maj. Gen. William T. Sherman, Military Division of the Mississippi

Field Commander: Maj. Gen. James B. McPherson

XV Corps
Commanding: Maj. Gen. John Logan

  • Harrow’s Division
  • Osterhaus’s Division
  • John Smith’s Division
  • Morgan Smith’s Division

XVI Corps
Commanding: Brevet Maj. Gen. A.J. Smith

  • Sweeny’s Division
  • Mower’s Division
  • Thomas Kilby Smith’s Division

XX Corps
Commanding: Maj. Gen. Joe Hooker

  • Butterfield’s Division
  • Geary’s Division
  • Williams’s Division

Cavalry (two independent divisions, not organized into a corps and answering to army headquarters)

  • Minty’s Division
  • Grierson’s Division

During the course of the novel, the Army of the Tennessee is reinforced by the XVII Corps:

XVII Corps
Commanding: Maj. Gen. Frank Blair

  • Leggett’s Division
  • Gresham’s Division

Leave a Reply